Aller Farmhouse Day 9

“The word ‘clue’ derives from ‘clew,’ meaning a ball of thread or yarn. It had come to mean ‘that which points the way’ because of the Greek myth in which Theseus uses a ball of yarn, given to him by Ariadne, to find his way out of the Minotaur’s labyrinth. The writers of the mid-nineteenth century still had this image in mind when they used the word… .

The thread that led Theseus out of the maze was true to another principle of Whicher’s investigation: the progress of a detective was backwards. To find his way out of danger and confusion, Theseus had to retrace his steps, return to the origin. The solution to a crime was the beginning as well as the end of a story.”

Day Nine at Aller today. I am finally to my brightest and last colour yellow.

The work is not far from finished, just a few bits to tweak. I have had some lovely visitors today and some very inspiring conversations!

It was a rain free day today but it was cloudy, so not a good day to take pictures of the gardens. Once the sun is out I will take some pictures promise!

Categories: Aller Farmhouse (Williton, West Somerset), Leah Hislop, Uncategorized | 2 Comments

About leah hislop

I am a site specific artist who lives in Taunton. My most recent work concentrates on building large intricate webs out of wool in a space.  Though there is some rough plan to what I will create. I never know how the work will look like because it is made on site and the work often takes the shape of the environment/space it fills. By using my own intuition and working within the space, I feel each work is a unique piece and also has a sense of connection to the place it has been created in. The subject matter of my work explores the boundaries (both physically and physiologically) that we as a society put between ourselves and the world. They also represent for me personally my need to find a sense of place within the world. 

2 thoughts on “Aller Farmhouse Day 9

Leave a Reply

