Aller Farmhouse Day Seven

“If you really believe in what you’re doing, work hard, take nothing personally and if something blocks one route, find another. Never give up”

I feel as the maker of the Labyrinth I cannot help but be also tested or put on some journey myself. I am getting very tired right now and today I hit a wall (metaphorically speaking).

The Labyrinth is somewhat testing me and basically I have to stay focused and keep my head down!

I also saw this online (see below) while I was researching and thought this was rather relevant with my thoughts for today.

“The Labyrinth as a Spiritual Tool. A labyrinth is an archetype with which we can have a direct experience. We can walk it. It is a metaphor for life’s journey. It is a symbol that creates a sacred space which leads us into its heart, then back out again along the same path. Although one is able to cross the lines at any time, we are compelled to follow the meandering path to the centre and back again.
The Labyrinth represents both a journey to our own centre and back out again into the world… at the same time as acting as a metaphor for the path we walk throughout our lives.
There is no getting lost in a Labyrinth. Rather, one is offered a path that weaves back and forth, in and out, until it ends in a central circular area. Here, walkers pause to reflect before departing as they came, carrying back wisdom gained on the inbound journey. Labyrinth walkers say the certitude of the path—knowing all decisions about direction have been made—frees them to focus on contemplation instead of navigation. Some call this prayer; others, deep reflection. Whatever the name, the practice has been used to nourish the soul around the world for several thousand of years.
The Labyrinth is a powerful geometric symbol with which we have formed an almost symbiotic relationship, which allows us to enter within its physical form at the same time as entering into a non-physical communication with ourselves.
Because they are so ancient, the various interpretations of the Labyrinth today may not agree with the same concept of the labyrinths in ancient times. It is curious then that the same identical symbol is found in countries and major religious traditions from around the ancient world (such as India, France, Egypt, Scandinavia, Crete, Sumeria, America, the British Isles, and Italy), and that in all cases, they share a common theme of pilgrimage and spiritual reward. This has led some claim they represent a universal pattern in human consciousness.”

Categories: Aller Farmhouse (Williton, West Somerset), Leah Hislop, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

About leah hislop

I am a site specific artist who lives in Taunton. My most recent work concentrates on building large intricate webs out of wool in a space.  Though there is some rough plan to what I will create. I never know how the work will look like because it is made on site and the work often takes the shape of the environment/space it fills. By using my own intuition and working within the space, I feel each work is a unique piece and also has a sense of connection to the place it has been created in. The subject matter of my work explores the boundaries (both physically and physiologically) that we as a society put between ourselves and the world. They also represent for me personally my need to find a sense of place within the world. 

Leave a Reply

