Thoughts and Inspiration

“I know that spinning sets me in a trance; it soothes me and charges my batteries at the same time. When times are tough I sit down to spin during the news-broadcasts, with therapeutic results.” 

― Elizabeth ZimmermannElizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitter’s Almanac

It has been a while since my last post, this has been mainly because of having so much to do so little time.

However it has been helpful for me to take a break from the computer and just be lost in my thoughts for a while.

It has been a soul searching few months as sadly a wonderful woman called Rosalind Gregory who provided me with all my fleece to which I am spinning at the moment passed away. She was an inspiring person and I wish i have had time to have got to know her better, she is always in my thoughts and I hope to do her proud in September.

Rosalind pretty much gave me many solutions to problems about my work I have had bubbling in my head which I will be forever thankful!

I have been learning how to mordant and then dye my fleece over the last few months, with the help of Emma Riley. I hope to start to learn now to dye with natural materials soon and this will be a challenge as my knowledge on plant life is very basic, but for now I will be using ordinary dyes for the fleece.

I have also been lucky enough to be one of the volunteers who helped Laura Ellen Bacon install her work in Barrington Court this month, it was very interesting to see how another site specific artist works within the environment they are given and I now have ideas in my head for the future installations.

Next week it all starts….. Installing at Queens for Quartz Festival 2013 and then also starting to install my framework for Aller Farmhouse for SAW 2013! Very exciting !

Categories: Aller Farmhouse (Williton, West Somerset), Leah Hislop, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

About leah hislop

I am a site specific artist who lives in Taunton. My most recent work concentrates on building large intricate webs out of wool in a space.  Though there is some rough plan to what I will create. I never know how the work will look like because it is made on site and the work often takes the shape of the environment/space it fills. By using my own intuition and working within the space, I feel each work is a unique piece and also has a sense of connection to the place it has been created in. The subject matter of my work explores the boundaries (both physically and physiologically) that we as a society put between ourselves and the world. They also represent for me personally my need to find a sense of place within the world. 

Leave a Reply

